Scam: Your domain must be deleted today!

There is a phishing scam going around lately trying to get people with domain names to log in to some enom site and put in their information.  I assume this is so that they can hijack your domain and send your traffic to them so they get clicks on their products or whatever.  I don’t know.  However, I just want to get the word out that the below email is a total scam.  You would never get an email like this from a legitimate domain hosting service like http://Domaindjinn.com.  First of all, we would always use your name and I would always recommend never to click on a link in the email itself.  If you need to log in, just go to the home page and then click on MY ACCOUNT.  Then you can log in with your credentials.  Almost all of these phishing scams ask you to click on a bogus link which goes to a website that looks real enough but really is just a way for them to steal your info.  This below email is the first one I have seen that is targeting Domain Name Hosting.  I am sure it won’t be the last.

 

Dear user,

On Sat, 1 Nov 2008 21:06:24 -0300 we received a third party complaint of invalid domain contact information in the Whois database for this domain. Whenever we receive a complaint, we are required by ICANN regulations to initiate an investigation as to whether the contact data displaying in the Whois database is valid data or not. If we find that there is invalid or missing data, we contact both the registrant and the account holder and inform them to update the information.

The contact information for the domain which displayed in the Whois database was indeed invalid. On Sat, 1 Nov 2008 21:06:24 -0300 we sent a notice to you at the admin/tech contact email address and the account email address informing you of invalid data in breach of the domain registration agreement and advising you to update the information or risk cancellation of the domain. The contact information was not updated within the specified period of time and we canceled the domain. The domain has subsequently been purchased by another party. You will need to contact them for any further inquiries regarding the domain.

PLEASE VERIFY YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION – Deleted URL

If you find any invalid contact information for this domain, please respond to this email with evidence of the specific contact information you have found to be invalid on the Whois record for the domain name. Examples would be a bounced email or returned postal mail. If you have a bounced email, please attach or forward with your reply or in the case of returned postal mail, scan the returned letter and attach to your email reply or please send it to:

Attn: Domain Services 14455 N Hayden Rd Suite 219 Scottsdale, AZ 85260

LINK TO CHANGE INFORMATION – Deleted URL

Thank you,
Domain Services

[IncidentID:02749]

Remember the above email is a total Scam and do not follow the links set within.

Advertisement

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.